California Wage and Hour Violations Attorneys
Wage and hour violations occur more often than you think. Many employers are either unaware of the law or deliberately exploit their employees to pay them less than what California law entitles them to receive. As an employee, you may have been misclassified as exempt from overtime or your employee has demanded that you work off the clock. In other cases, you may not be provided the meal and rest breaks mandated by California law, or your pay stub does not accurately reflect the amount of time worked and the correct wages earned.
Overtime and Meal Breaks
Typically, California employers are required to pay their employees overtime if they work more than 8 hours in one day or more than 40 hours in a work week. This applies regardless if the employee receives a salary or commission.
Employers must also pay employees at least one hour of their wages if no 30-minute, work-free break is provided for every 5 hours worked. This also applies if employees are not given at least one, 10-minute work-free break for every 4-hours worked.
For employees working a 10-hour day, they are entitled to two, 30-minute meal breaks. The employer and employee may mutually agree to waive these breaks if the workday is 6-hours or less. If the workday is 12-hours, both parties may agree to waive the second 30-minute meal break.
If your employer is not adhering to California’s wage and hour laws, promptly contact the California wage and hour violations lawyers at The Law Offices of Alex G. Tovarian.
What is Overtime in California?
A workday is 8-hours of work in one day. Unless you are a legitimately exempt employee, if you work more than 8-hours in any one day or more than 40-hours in a work week, you are entitled to one and a half times your regular hourly pay rate for each hour of overtime worked.
Should you work more than 12 hours in one day, California law states that you are entitled to double your regular hourly rate for each hour worked in excess of 12 hours. And, if you work for 7 consecutive days, your compensation should be double your wage rate for hours that is more than 8 on the seventh day.
Discharge from Employment
If you were fired or otherwise discharged from your work, your employer owes you for any unused paid sick leave and vacation pay and must pay you immediately as well as provide you with an itemized wage statement.
The Law Offices of Alex G. Tovarian Can Help
If you know or suspect your employer is violating California’s wage and hour laws, immediately contact The Law Offices of Alex G. Tovarian. Our attorneys are knowledgeable and experienced about California’s wage and hour laws and how they apply to your situation.
Call The Law Offices of Alex G. Tovarian today for a free, initial consultation to speak to an experienced wage and hour violations attorney today and learn how you can receive the compensation you deserve.